top of page

Our School: Curriculum

To find out more about the National Testing please find a link to the Learning Wales website here:

The National Curriculum in Wales

The National Curriculum provides your child with the opportunity to:

  • Learn core skills in English, mathematics and science.

  • Study other subjects which provide a sound foundation for their future.

  • Receive a balanced and rounded education.


Your child will follow the National Curriculum through particular phases of his or her school career. These are:

  • Foundation Phase (FP) which covers pupils aged 3–7.

  • Key Stage 2 which covers those aged 7–11.

  • Key Stage 3 takes pupils up to the age of 14.

At these key stages/phases your son or daughter's progress will be measured against the Outcomes/Levels set out in the National Curriculum.


Primary education from Nursery to Year 2 is called The Foundation Phase. The curriculum is divided into Areas of Learning, which are, Language, Literacy and Communication, Mathematical Development, Personal Social Development, Wellbeing and Cultural Diversity, Creative, Physical Development, Knowledge and Understanding of the World and Welsh Language.


Primary education from Year 3 to Year 6 is called Key Stage 2. The curriculum is divided into a range of subjects with emphasis on the development of Literacy and Numeracy skills across the curriculum.


The subjects are as follows:

Welsh, Information Technology, Design & Technology, History, Geography, Art, Music, and Physical Education. As part of the curriculum your child will also study Religious Education and Personal, Social and Health Education.


The Literacy and Numeracy Framework (LNF)

The Welsh Government implemented the Literacy and Numeracy Framework in 2013, it has been interwoven into the schemes of work and pupils are tracked in their literacy and numeracy skills progression across the curriculum.


Alongside the introduction of the framework, National tests in Reading, Numeracy (procedural) and Numeracy (reasoning) were introduced and are administered to all pupils in Year 2 to Year 6 during the month of May every year.


Parents receive a written report on their child’s literacy and numeracy progression across the curriculum in the annual reports and also receive a copy of their child’s reading and numeracy test scores, which show year on year attainment.

bottom of page